A plea for co-existence

Stopping myself is putting a barricade over sea.
Starting you is trying to mill a sea out of a desert.

I want to be a kid.
I want to throw tantrums.
I want to talk and right now.
I want to be with you and right now.

I want to be stubborn.
I want my every whim and fancy to be fulfilled.
I want what I want and I don’t want to be questioned about it.
I want what I want and I want it right now.

And then I stop myself.
I stop myself to teach me the spelling of patience.
I stop myself and learn to write, ‘tread slowly’.
It’s two hearts, two dreams, one soul, and a thousand egos.

Stopping myself is putting a barricade over sea.
Starting you is trying to mill a sea out of a desert.

Sea’s love is deep only for those who dive,
Otherwise it’s just a mass of waves on the surface.
Desert’s silence is golden for those who are willing to stay thirsty for a while,
Otherwise it’s just another mass of dryness on the surface.

I look at you to quench my thirst.
In midst of a dry spell I forget the water that I am.
You look at me to give you peace,
In midst of chaotic waves you forget the silence of your own sands.

I am scared you would fill me with sand, make me dry.
You are scared my waves will wash away your peace.
If only I would add waves to your sand, make it flow and touch the moon.
If only you would add sand to my waves, make the ripples go deep and touch the life source.

Give me you and take me away…
Stopping myself is putting a barricade over sea.
Starting you is trying to mill a sea out of a desert.
Isn’t that the only way the desert can survive it’s thirst and not choke on it?
Isn’t that the only way sea can survive it’s wave and not drown in it?

13 thoughts on “A plea for co-existence

  1. been a while since i stopped by.
    n Im glad I did..

    im all ‘wow’s at this piece.

    someone seems to be seriously on to her getting wiser mode, eh?

  2. Fantastic flurry of words that force an image to be propelled into the mind and then turn it all around, like an eruption that lets its ashes fall gently to the ground

Leave a Reply

